top of page
Search
  • 2s982mit

Machining Week 7

Once again I worked on the threadless leadscrew nuts. I am so close to being done! All that is left is to manufacture 18 inserts at the desired pitch angle (0.37 deg) which, knowing my luck, will take the entirety of one more lab period. Overall I've definitely learned a lot from going through the design process for this part and I'm happy to redesign the nuts if anyone thinks they will be useful for the class in the future.



We also finished machining the motor mounts and completed the bearing block mounts. It was a great experience machining with non-standard stock, and having to repeatedly adapt to our own mistakes. I feel a lot more confident in taking an idea from a design to a physical prototype now, and am more comfortable with manufacturing.


Note that we did make new CAM for the motor mounts and bearing block mounts, and successfully used it to machine the parts. No new drawings or CAD were made, as we are currently on a fabricating spree.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page